Tuesday, 15 July 2008

Winner of BBC 4 Short Story Announced

Winner announced.

Clare Wigfall
has been announced as the winner of this year’s BBC National Short Story Award, with Jane Gardam named as runner up.

Clare Wigfall will receive £15,000 – the largest award in the world for a single short story – for her story The Numbers and Jane Gardam £3,000 for a work titled The People on Privilege Hill. The three remaining authors on the shortlist – Richard Beard, Erin Soros and Adam Thorpe – will all receive £500.

Announcing the winners, chair of the judging panel, broadcaster and writer Martha Kearney, said:

"It's exciting that a relatively unknown voice, in fact the youngest writer on our shortlist, has distinguished herself amongst some very well known authors as a leading talent in the world of storytelling. Clare’s evocation of superstition and frustrated lives on a remote Scottish island is an act of historical ventriloquism. She shows just what the short story can achieve, conjuring up a whole world in microcosm. The strength of our shortlist ranging from the gothic to the comic demonstrates that the short story is alive and well, the perfect art form for a time hungry age."

More on the Award:

The BBC National Short Story Award is an annual award celebrating the best of the contemporary British short story.

The award is, now in its third year, is funded by the BBC and administered in partnership with the Booktrust and Scottish Book Trust. The winning author will receive £15,000, the runner up £3,000 and the other three short listed stories £500 each. While the short story continues to thrive on Radio 4, it has recently enjoyed less prestige in print. The Award aims to redress the balance and enhance the genre’s profile across the literary world.

This year the Award attracted over 600 submissions. In showcasing the Award BBC Radio 4 promises a week of outstanding storytelling and demonstrates the BBC's real commitment to the short story.

Source: BBC Radio 4

No comments: